Theme Whips vs. Standard Bullwhips

Noreast Whips Standard Bullwhip Whipmakers, who are also whipcrackers, tend to build whips which they like to crack. Every whipcracker has his or her own preference in weight, length & style of whip they enjoy cracking. Some like slow, heavy & thick bullwhips. Some prefer thinner, lightweight stockwhips. Others like snakewhips. The world of whips is comprised of various personal preferences. For myself, I don’t like heavy whips, but rather those that are lighter & faster for multiple cracking routines. I enjoy practicing two-handed routines with a pair of stockwhips; but for general whipcracking & targets, I prefer an Australian style bullwhip.

In my own experience, I’ve learned that many Americans enjoy slow & heavy bullwhips. The iconic “Indy Bull”, reproduced by many whipmakers, in both leather & nylon, holds the standard of being a moderately heavy to heavy whip, as introduced by the builder of the original Indy whips, David Morgan. Many American whipmakers follow this style of whipmaking. The Standard Bulls I build at Noreast Whips are built to my personal preference. I believe they’re better suited for multiple cracking, are light enough to allow the user to practice for long periods before growing tired, yet heavy enough to crack very easily & are excellent in the use of cutting targets. For those who enjoy heavier whips, I’ve developed several models in the Theme Whips section of Noreast Whips. 

Raiders Bull~Black & Brown The Theme Whips are not simply Standard Bullwhips with different labels. Theme Whips & Standard Bulls are altogether different whips. The Indy Bulls (Raiders & Crystal Skull) aren’t just Standard Bulls with handle straps attached, plaited in colors which match closely as possible to those seen in the movies. They have more weight in the cores & modified bellies, resulting in a slower taper. They are heavier & slower moving. The Zorro Bulls also have more weight in the core & taper more slowly, yet with the longer 12 inch handle. If you’ve been thinking of getting a Standard Bull, but want a heavy whip, then a Standard Bull will probably not suit your taste. One of the Theme Whips may in fact be what you’re after & serve you better. There are more & more makers of nylon whips popping up all over the world. Before you buy a nylon whip, consider the whipmaker & what type of whips that he or she likes to crack. Hope this post has helped clarify some things.

~Steve,

Noreast Whips.

This entry was posted in Theme whips, raffles, whipmaking. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Theme Whips vs. Standard Bullwhips

  1. Timm from Tejas says:

    Hello.
    I came across your blog/website a couple weeks back. I just finished my first nylon whip and it turned out pretty decent for a first whip, I think. The seams are not perfect or anything but it cracks easily and its fun. Anyway, I enjoy your blog and read that you may be closing your doors. I was wondering if thats still a possibility? It would be a shame. You make beautiful items. I would love to get ahold of your how to dvd but right now I cant. I was just wondering so that sometime in the next couple months I could buy it. I guess Ill just keep checking back. I really hope (and not just for my own end) that you are able to stick around.
    Sincerely
    Timm

    • noreastwhips says:

      Hi Timm, thanks for the comment! I won’t be shutting down, just needed some time to revamp things. The ebook will be there any time you want to purchase it. Glad to hear you’re learning to build whips, hope it’s giving you lots of enjoyment. I appreciate you taking the time to read the blog & hope you keep coming back!

      ~Steve.

  2. Blake says:

    Interesting stuff Steve! I was just thinking about weighting this week and this was helpful.

    I thought I wanted something heavier. Call it that American “big n tough” mindset. However if lightness adds performance or general usability it should be considered as an option. A page out of Ferdinand Porsche’s book :).

    Blake

    • noreastwhips says:

      Hey Blake, thanks for the comment! Whips are a personal thing, & we all have our own likes & dislikes. There’s definitely nothing wrong with a heavy whip, but I think that lighter means quicker.

      ~Steve.

Leave a Reply

